Lincoln County, Maine 


Pemaquid Point Light


Lincoln County Boundary Changes

Lincoln County (1760 map) was established as the eastern county from York County (York and Cumberland were the western Counties) of the Province of Maine's three counties on June 21, 1760. Pownalborough Courthouse was built in 1761. In 1790 Hancock and Washington were established from Lincoln County (1790 map). In 1799, Kennebeck County was established from the remainder of Lincoln County (1799 map). In 1827 Waldo was established from part of the remaining Lincoln County (1827 map) . In 1854 Sagadahoc and part of Androscoggin were established from the remaining Lincoln County (1854 map). In 1860 Knox was established from the remaining Lincoln County (1860 map). Thus the original Lincoln County which covered almost 90% of Maine has been divided into many other counties between 1790 and 1860. Your search must take into account the time frames of your ancestors and not just the current boundaries (current county map - No changes since 1913).


Archives Lincoln County
Cemetery Index
Register of Historic Places
Pemaquid Historic Site
Pemaquid Point Light
Ancient Pemaquid
Related Surnames
Surname Index
Spague Journal of Maine History
Lincoln County Courthouse

Pemaquid Point Shipwreck - Gabriel'

Wiscasset Landmarks

Lincoln County Databases

Lincoln/Washington County Deeds, Grants, Petitions

MELINCOL mailing list - To subscribe send "subscribe" to  (mail mode) or  (digest mode).

Sagadahoc County
Kennebec County
Waldo County
Knox County


Lookups Query IndexSocieties Surname Index
You are the 108840 visitor since 13 October 1996.

Copyright 1996 - Present